Executive Council

The British Association of Dental Therapist Council as of AGM 2019

Debbie Mcgovern

Active President 

I love being a dental therapist and have over 30 years’ experience in dentistry and starting as dental nurse in Liverpool before studying for a Bachelor of Science degree at Manchester University. 

I currently work in the coal face of dentistry with my husband Marius at our NHS and private clinics. I use my full scope of practice. I have a particular interest in skin and facial aesthetics and anti-ageing. I have been a council member for over 13 years holding a variety of positions.
I enjoy the politics of dentistry and representing our profession.I have met some incredible people during my time with BADT and hope I can contribute more along my journey representing you our members.On a Personal level I have four children, Lauren who is also a dental therapist, Michael, Niamh and Kian.

Debbie Hemington 

Active Chair 

Debbie qualified as  a Dental Therapists at New Cross in 1983, the year it closed down, and is actually  the last New Cross Therapist. She qualified as a Hygienist at Kings in 1987 where she won several awards and for the last 16 years has combined working in practice (where she has been for 32 years) with teaching student Dental Therapists and Hygienists at the Eastman Dental Hospital. 

She also worked for the former London Deanery for 4 years as part of the DCP CPD team, leading for Dental Therapy. In 2013 Debbie completed a 2 year part time post graduate course in Clinical Peridontology, on top of all the extended duties as they have been introduced, including Prescribing Radiographs. Debbie was also invited to join the charity “Heart Your Smile” to lead their school educational programme. 

Debbie has been treasurer of the London Region of BADT for over 10 years and has organised many CPD events over the years.  She has also been an invited speaker at a number of events including The Dentistry Show, The Trigeminal Neuralgia Association and the European Association of Oral Medicine, where she presented an account of her role in treating a terminally ill HIV positive teenager, to an international audience.  

Debbie has Dental Therapy and BADT in her blood and was recently awarded the “Outstanding Achievement” award in recognition of setting up an educational collaboration between BADT and The Eastman Dental Institute.

Anne-Marie Yarwood


Anne Marie studied at New Cross School for Dental therapists and qualified in 1979 then worked in NHS community dental practices. Following a career change, during which she raised a family, she attended a “return to work” course in 2005 and found work as a dental therapist and practice manager in a busy NHS general dental practice in Manchester. Anne-Marie gained management and financial experience working in a major multinational bank; useful skills she has brought to the BADT council. A positive and enthusiastic person, she has always been an active member of her community. 

Anne-Marie said we all have an important role as dental professionals, supporting the health of individuals and the population but also every member of the BADT can be proud of their contribution to the continuation of our Dental Therapist profession.

Julie Ellis


After qualifying from New Cross in 1979, Julie moved to Wales to start her first job as a Dental Therapist in the community service, she has worked there ever since. Along the way she has seen many changes in the role of the therapist and now as a senior member of staff utilises all the extended duties that were not available during her training. She has completed the post graduate certificate in oral health promotion along with the further education teaching certificate, she now teaches on the Wales deanery OHE course for dental nurses.

Always a keen and active member of BADT she has held the position of South wales rep, education and Training before taking on the role of secretary.

Non Exec BADT Council

Suzy Rowlands 

National Conference Coordinator and Website Officer
Chris Forrest

BADT Journal Editor
Joanne Bowles

International Relations Director
Dave Martin

   Media Relations Director     Media Relations Associate 
Holly Buckley               Kelsey Ellen

Regional Representatives

Merseyside and South Pennines 
Verity Hughes

Emma Duke 

Northeast England 
Adetunji Otemade

Southwest England

London and Southeast
Ibrahim Numan & Lianne Dobson 

Kyle Anderson

Wales, Northern Ireland and Northwest Positions Available